Anonymous Research Initiative
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Can we use the Socratic Method?

2 posters

Go down

Can we use the Socratic Method? Empty Can we use the Socratic Method?

Post by ravenpaige Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:03 pm

I've been doing some research into the Socratic Method:

http://www.garlikov.com/Soc_Meth.html

I've done some experimenting along these lines on WITP with varied results. I asked the question" Do we need leaders?" to get people thinking about what a leader is, how it's defined, whether this is a good idea or not.

I think the thread devolved into a discussion about whether police are good or bad, but what I was really trying to do was just get people thinking.

I'm not very good at this stuff, and as the link I gave above says, this is a lot of hard work to really do it right.

But I wonder, what if a certain number of us started using the Socratic Method to get people to really start thinking?

In addition, I've had some success using sockpuppets to keep the thread active. This has to be very subtle. The sockpuppet cannot be a vocal proponent, I think, but can be used perhaps as one of the first followers to help push the tipping point.

Is this bad of me?

Maybe I've been in marketing too long.

Thoughts? Comments?
ravenpaige
ravenpaige
Admin

Back to top Go down

Can we use the Socratic Method? Empty Re: Can we use the Socratic Method?

Post by The Dude Sun Sep 11, 2011 2:02 am

ravenpaige wrote:But I wonder, what if a certain number of us started using the Socratic Method to get people to really start thinking?

In addition, I've had some success using sockpuppets to keep the thread active. This has to be very subtle. The sockpuppet cannot be a vocal proponent, I think, but can be used perhaps as one of the first followers to help push the tipping point.

Is this bad of me?

Maybe I've been in marketing too long.

Thoughts? Comments?